How to Delete Messages on Instagram from both Sides (Step by Step Guide)

How to delete messages on Instagram from both sides
How to delete messages on Instagram from both sides

Instagram, a photo-sharing platform now owned by Facebook has grown on the bar of popularity as the years have passed. People are not only using this app for photo sharing, but also to message each other with the help of the in-built DM feature, which lets you share posts, messages, photos, and videos, instantly to your Instagram contacts. Although, many a time we mess up things and unintentionally share some message or post to someone who can get furious after reading/watching it, which is why it becomes necessary to delete such messages from both sides and erase the evidence completely. But how? How to delete messages on Instagram from both sides.

Let’s try to figure it out!

How to delete messages on Instagram from both sides?

To delete messages on Instagram from both sides, i.e., from the receiver as well as the sender’s end, you can use the “Unsend” feature that comes in-built inside the Instagram app. 

Still unclear?

Then, just follow this step-by-step guide for accurate information.

  • Open the “Instagram” app on your mobile phone.
  • Then, click on the “DM button” located at the right-hand side corner of the app. (It used to look like a paper plane previously, but now as it is owned by Facebook, it has been replaced with the Facebook Messenger type symbol.)
Find Facebook Messenger Symbol
Find Facebook Messenger Symbol
  • You will now see a list of conversations you had with people on Instagram.
List of Conversations
List of Conversations
  • Now, tap on the chat to open it.
  • Then, tap and hold on to the chat bubble that you want to delete or unsend.
  • Lastly, tap on the “Unsend” button, which will appear at the bottom of the screen.
Tap Unsend Button
Tap Unsend Button
  • Done, you have successfully deleted or unsent the message from both sides.
  • Repeat this process for every message you want to delete. Plus, you can apply the same solution to your Instagram group chats.

Note: When you try to delete messages on Instagram from both sides, you will only be able to delete those messages which you have sent and not the ones which were sent by the other party. Therefore, the other person can see the messages that he/she has sent, unless and until they also decide to delete them.

Similarly, if you want to delete the entire threat of your Instagram messages, you can easily do it by following the next guide.

How to delete the entire Instagram conversation?

So, after that we have discussed how to delete messages on Instagram from both sides, it is now time to discuss how to delete the entire Instagram conversation at once in a simple manner.

  • Open the “Instagram” app.
  • Now, tap on the “DM button” located in the right-hand side corner of the app.
Find DM Button
Find DM Button
  • You will now see a list of conversations that you had with people on Instagram.
List of Conversations
List of Conversations
  • Now, navigate to the conversation tab that you want to delete completely.
  • After that, tap and hold on to that conversation for 2 to 3 seconds (Android), or swipe left on the conversation (iPhone).
  • A list of options will appear on the screen.
  • Tap on the “Delete” option, and done.
Tap Delete Option
Tap Delete Option
  • You have successfully deleted the entire conversation on Instagram.

Moreover, you can also delete multiple chat conversations at once, by following this next step-by-step tutorial.

  • Open the “Instagram” app.
  • Tap on the “DM button”, which is located in the right-hand side corner of the app.
Tap DM Button
Tap DM Button
  • You will now see a list of conversations that you had with people on Instagram.
List of Conversations
List of Conversations
  • Now, tap on the icon which is similar to the “Bullets” icon of MS Word.
Tap Bullets Icon
Tap Bullets Icon
  • Then, select the chats that you want to delete.
Select the Chat Profile
Select the Chat Profile
  • Finally, tap on the “Delete” option, which is available at the bottom right of the app.
Tap Delete Option
Tap Delete Option
  • Confirm the selection, and done.
Confirm Deletion
Confirm Deletion
  • You have successfully deleted multiple Instagram chats in one go.

Note: By using these two methods, you can only delete the conversation from your side. The other person will still be able to see and read the conversation. Also, not to forget, this won’t delete your messages on their end.

So, if you want your own messages to be deleted from both sides, first delete them using the “Unsend” feature, and then delete the entire conversation using the above-mentioned steps.

Frequently Asked Questions on Instagram Messages:

Can a person receive a notification if I unsend the message?

No, a person won’t receive any notification if you unsend the message. Although, he/she will receive a push notification whenever you send a message on Instagram, which is worrisome. Moreover, if he/she has set the notifications panel to reveal the content, there is a slight possibility that they will be able to see it instantly without opening the app.

Therefore, make sure you delete the message right away after you have sent it, so that the other person will not see it. Additionally, the notification will be deleted instantly as you unsend a message.

Can I retrieve the unsent message again?

No, once the message is unsent there is no scope for reversing the process.

Can I unsend a message even after it was sent 2 weeks ago?

Yes, definitely, unlike WhatsApp or Snapchat, Instagram consists of no time limit for unsending the messages. You can unsend the message even after years.

How long the messages are stored on Instagram?

The messages which are sent on Instagram are stored for infinity on its servers, unless you set a photo or video on “View Once” or “Allow Replay.” 

Can the other user delete or unsend messages?

Yes, the other user can also delete or unsend his/her messages if they want to. But again, this will not affect your messages or conversations and will remain with you, until you decide to remove it from your Instagram account.

Will the messages get deleted or unsent if I block a user?

No, if you block a user, it won’t delete or unsend the messages for that user. In fact, he/she can still access the entire conversation when they wish to. Therefore, if you are concerned about your privacy, delete the messages using the “Unsend” feature first, and then block the person.

Does deleting an Instagram account delete the messages automatically?

Unfortunately, no, deleting an Instagram account won’t delete the messages automatically, because they are stored on Instagram servers and can be accessed by the opposite party at any time unless and until he/she also decides to delete their account.

Can uninstalling the Instagram app delete the messages?

NO, uninstalling the Instagram app won’t delete the messages as the messages are stored on Instagram’s server for life. Thus, when you reinstall the app, you will be able to see those messages again.

Final Remarks on “how to delete messages on Instagram from both sides?”

Instagram as a social media app has proven to be a great way of connecting with people through photos and messages. However, if you find yourself in an “awful message situation”, don’t worry, and use the “Unsend” feature to reverse the action. Moreover, if you are in doubt about Instagram blocking you for unfollowing too many people at the same time or friends never liking your Instagram post, then, click on the links to find out the solutions.